Oct
19
7:00pm 7:00pm

Book Launch in conjunction with Village Books

An evening with Salley Vickers

Tickets are £8 on the door & include a glass of wine or soft drink. Pre-booked tickets online £9.08  BOOK TICKETS HERE

Salley Vickers first novel Miss Garnet’s Angel was an international word of mouth bestseller, and she has since established herself as one of our leading novelists, in the tradition of Penelope Fitzgerald and Marilynne Robinson. In her latest book, Cousins, brilliant and mercurial Will Tye suffers a life changing accident with consequences which echo through three generations of the Tye family. Each member of the family holds some clue to the chain of events which may have led to the accident and each holds themselves to blame.

Cousins is a subtle novel weaving darkness and light which takes us from the outbreak of World War Two to the present day, exploring the recurrence of tragedy, the nature of transgression, and the limits of morality and love.

 

Bestselling author, Salley Vickers 

Bestselling author, Salley Vickers 

View Event →

Sep
21
7:00pm 7:00pm

Book launch in conjunction with Village Books

An evening in the company of bestselling authors, Sarah Winman and Rachel Joyce as they talk ‘in conversation’ about their wonderful new novels, Tin Man & The Music Shop.

Tickets £8 on the door - includes a glass of wine. Pre-booked tickets online £9.08    BOOK TICKETS HERE

The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce is a new novel about learning how to listen and how to feel; and about second chances and choosing to be brave despite the odds. Because in the end, music can save us all …

The Music Shop is BBC Radio 4’s BOOK AT BEDTIME from 17-28 July. And you can follow this link for specially collated The Music Shop playlist: bit.ly/TheMusicShopPlaylist

Tin Man by Sarah Winman is the unforgettable and achingly tender new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller When God was a Rabbit and the Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller A Year of Marvellous Ways.

Rachel and Sarah will be in conversation with Hannah Beckermann. Hannah is a full-time author and journalist, writing features for the FT Weekend Magazine and book reviews for The Observer and The Sunday Express.

This event will begin at 7pm.

 

View Event →
Aug
7
to Aug 11

Summer Filmmaking Fun - Sparks course

Join us this summer for five days full of filmmaking fun. On the Summer Film Shoot, students learn all about how to make a movie from scratch and develop their skills behind and in front of the camera. Click for details and price

Participants on this summer course develop confidence and creative skills both in front of and behind the camera, as they devise, direct, film, crew, edit and perform in a movie masterpiece. In small, age-tiered groups, our young crews develop all the skills they need to produce their own movie, ranging from camera technique, acting for camera, editing and more. Each group makes their own movie production ready for unveiling at the big red carpet cinema premiere in the autumn.

Click for photographs from a recent film making event at Bell House

View Event →
May
14
11:00am11:00am

Artists' Open House

As part of the Dulwich Festival, Bell House opens its doors for the first time showing work by artists who through their dyslexia have discovered a different way of thinking.  Using the medium of paper they explore themes from play to politics. Click onto the names of our featured artists to see their work  Lucy Soni , Sophie Eade , Valeriya N-Georg , Jane Higginbottom , Lucy Bainbridge , Alice Kathleen Irwin

View Event →
May
13
11:00am11:00am

Artists' Open House

As part of the Dulwich Festival, Bell House opens its doors for the first time showing work by artists who through their dyslexia have discovered a different way of thinking.  Using the medium of paper they explore themes from play to politics. Click onto the names of our featured artists to see their work  Lucy Soni , Sophie Eade , Valeriya N-Georg , Jane Higginbottom , Lucy Bainbridge , Alice Kathleen Irwin

View Event →