Feb
9
7:00 PM19:00

New Talk: Filming with your smartphone

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 09.14.55.png

Learn how to use your phone as a professional movie camera.

Join multi award winning smartphone filmmaker Cassius Rayner for his in-depth introduction to the world and endless possibilities of smartphone filmmaking.

His one and a half hour talk will offer you ideas on how to improve your video content for online use. Demos will be shown and the chance to see hands on, some of the equipment accessories, now used to support smartphone video recording.

Find out more and book your place here

tickets £12  

We also have a limited number of subsidised places - please contact us at info@bellhouse.co.uk

View Event →
Feb
5
7:00 PM19:00

Parents! Discover how to support your child's revision by Bell House

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 16.53.00.png

Is revision a struggle in your house? Is your dyslexic child about to sit public exams this summer? Come to Bell House Dulwich to learn how you can support your children's revision and help them achieve their potential in exams.

The talk will cover

  • common mistakes and pitfalls
  • tips and tricks for efficient learning
  • how to use technology to support revision

You will be guided by Caroline Bateman, a learning consultant with personal experience of dyslexia.

Tickets cost £15 

We also have a limited number of subsidised places - please contact us at info@bellhouse.co.uk

View Event →
Jan
25
10:00 AM10:00

Quilt Academy Drop-in

kris-atomic-73934.jpg

The Quilt Academy have a passion for sewing quilts and other craft projects. For 2018 they will be sharing their skills in regular, structured sessions on Thursdays at Bell House. The Academy will teach both hand sewing and machine sewing. Two tutors will be on hand for each session and students will be able to work on anything from a quilted box through to a pillow, baby quilt or bag.  If students have carers, translators, therapists or family support, they are welcome to sit in on the sessions. We hope students will acquire a practical skill, socialise with others and make something beautiful to cherish.

The Quilt Academy is flexible and imaginative, so drop by for a cup of tea and meet us to discuss the possibilities. 

Quote from the Quilt Academy,

“Over the years, we have derived much joy - and inner peace - through making quilts, bags, clothes, pillows, table linens and more. We know others can do likewise with the right mentoring within a safe and welcoming space that Bell House is keen to provide”

Drop-in dates and times:

from 10:00 - 16:00

January 18 and 25  

February 1, 8, 15, 22

March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29

View Event →
Jan
20
10:00 AM10:00

Beekeeping for Beginners

Philip Nicholson will be giving a half day 'Beekeeping for Beginners' taster session covering: the honey bee colony; the beehive; the beekeeping year; honey; swarming and swarm management; pests and diseases; beekeeping equipment and costs.

Bell House has now established a small apiary with a view to supporting beekeeping and bee-related educational events and courses in the coming months.

The cost of the course is £30 and tickets can be reserved from this Eventbrite page. 

DSCF3068.jpg
View Event →
Jan
18
10:00 AM10:00

The Quilt Academy Drop-in

IMG-0084.JPG
 

The Quilt Academy have a passion for sewing quilts and other craft projects. For 2018 they will be sharing their skills in regular, structured sessions on Thursdays at Bell House. The Academy will teach both hand sewing and machine sewing. Two tutors will be on hand for each session and students will be able to work on anything from a quilted box through to a pillow, baby quilt or bag.  If students have carers, translators, therapists or family support, they are welcome to sit in on the sessions. We hope students will acquire a practical skill, socialise with others and make something beautiful to cherish.

The Quilt Academy is flexible and imaginative, so drop by for a cup of tea and meet us to discuss the possibilities. 

Quote from the Quilt Academy,

“Over the years, we have derived much joy - and inner peace - through making quilts, bags, clothes, pillows, table linens and more. We know others can do likewise with the right mentoring within a safe and welcoming space that Bell House is keen to provide”

Drop-in dates and times:

from 10:00 - 16:00

January 18 and 25  

February 1, 8, 15, 22

March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29

 

View Event →
Jan
16
7:00 PM19:00

My Child is Different: parenting seminar

Elaine Halligan leads a seminar on how to use positive parenting skills to enable your child to succeed if they are struggling at school because of their special educational needs.

Elaine Halligan is Director of the Parent Practice . Learn more about their approach to positive parenting from this short film. The parenting talk is a "donate what you like " event and tickets can be reserved here.

 Elaine Halligan of the Parenting Practice

Elaine Halligan of the Parenting Practice

View Event →
Dec
9
to Jan 6

Gardening Volunteers

Please join us if you would like to help with some of the Spring and Summer jobs in Bell House's Georgian garden. Novices, experts and all ages welcome.  Coffee, croissants and friendly co-workers provided.

Gardeners.JPG
View Event →
Nov
28
7:00 PM19:00

How IT can help your dyslexic teenager in secondary school.

 credit- Mia Baker 

credit- Mia Baker 

 

Join us at Bell House to find out how technology can transform learning for your teenager at secondary school. Our speaker Caroline Bateman is a learning consultant with personal experience of dyslexia. She will cover the range of technologies available to support secondary school dyslexic learners achieve their potential. The talk is aimed at anyone interested in IT for dyslexics at secondary school level including parents, teachers, tutors, adult dyslexics, or older children.

Tickets cost £15. We also have bursary places available, please contact info@bellhouse.co.uk for information.

Read more about Caroline on her website

View Event →
Nov
18
10:00 AM10:00

Introductory Beekeeping Session

Our bees have arrived at Bell House! Join us at Bell House for an introductory beekeeping course on Saturday 18th November.

With the help of beekeeper Philip Nicholson, at Bell House we have now established a small apiary with a view to supporting beekeeping and bee-related educational events and courses in the coming months.

To start this off, Philip will be giving a half day 'Beekeeping for Beginners' taster session at Bell House on Saturday 18th November starting at 10am and finishing about 1pm. The session is aimed at adults who have little or no experience of beekeeping, but are interested in knowing more.

Come and see what all the buzz is about: sign up via Eventbrite here. Tickets cost £30.

N.B: We have some bursary places available for this course. Please contact info@bellhouse.co.uk for information. 

View Event →
Oct
19
7:00 PM19:00

Book Launch in conjunction with Village Books

An evening with Salley Vickers

Tickets are £8 on the door & include a glass of wine or soft drink. Pre-booked tickets online £9.08  BOOK TICKETS HERE

Salley Vickers first novel Miss Garnet’s Angel was an international word of mouth bestseller, and she has since established herself as one of our leading novelists, in the tradition of Penelope Fitzgerald and Marilynne Robinson. In her latest book, Cousins, brilliant and mercurial Will Tye suffers a life changing accident with consequences which echo through three generations of the Tye family. Each member of the family holds some clue to the chain of events which may have led to the accident and each holds themselves to blame.

Cousins is a subtle novel weaving darkness and light which takes us from the outbreak of World War Two to the present day, exploring the recurrence of tragedy, the nature of transgression, and the limits of morality and love.

 

 Bestselling author, Salley Vickers 

Bestselling author, Salley Vickers 

View Event →
Sep
21
7:00 PM19:00

Book launch in conjunction with Village Books

An evening in the company of bestselling authors, Sarah Winman and Rachel Joyce as they talk ‘in conversation’ about their wonderful new novels, Tin Man & The Music Shop.

Tickets £8 on the door - includes a glass of wine. Pre-booked tickets online £9.08    BOOK TICKETS HERE

The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce is a new novel about learning how to listen and how to feel; and about second chances and choosing to be brave despite the odds. Because in the end, music can save us all …

The Music Shop is BBC Radio 4’s BOOK AT BEDTIME from 17-28 July. And you can follow this link for specially collated The Music Shop playlist: bit.ly/TheMusicShopPlaylist

Tin Man by Sarah Winman is the unforgettable and achingly tender new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller When God was a Rabbit and the Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller A Year of Marvellous Ways.

Rachel and Sarah will be in conversation with Hannah Beckermann. Hannah is a full-time author and journalist, writing features for the FT Weekend Magazine and book reviews for The Observer and The Sunday Express.

This event will begin at 7pm.

 

View Event →
Aug
7
to Aug 11

Summer Filmmaking Fun - Sparks course

Join us this summer for five days full of filmmaking fun. On the Summer Film Shoot, students learn all about how to make a movie from scratch and develop their skills behind and in front of the camera. Click for details and price

Participants on this summer course develop confidence and creative skills both in front of and behind the camera, as they devise, direct, film, crew, edit and perform in a movie masterpiece. In small, age-tiered groups, our young crews develop all the skills they need to produce their own movie, ranging from camera technique, acting for camera, editing and more. Each group makes their own movie production ready for unveiling at the big red carpet cinema premiere in the autumn.

Click for photographs from a recent film making event at Bell House

View Event →
May
14
11:00 AM11:00

Artists' Open House

As part of the Dulwich Festival, Bell House opens its doors for the first time showing work by artists who through their dyslexia have discovered a different way of thinking.  Using the medium of paper they explore themes from play to politics. Click onto the names of our featured artists to see their work  Lucy Soni , Sophie Eade , Valeriya N-Georg , Jane Higginbottom , Lucy Bainbridge , Alice Kathleen Irwin

View Event →